Random thoughts from random notebooks…

So over the course of the last 14 years I’ve filled up a sizable amount of notebooks with random thoughts, lyrics, doodles and story ideas.  I went through a few of the early notebooks. 2000-2011 (the 90s notebooks are just terrible) 😉 and here are some gems of insight my earlier self thought were important enough to write down.

…If you live to 80 you are 12 people.  Every 7 years all your cells are renewed so every 7 years you are a different person…

…samsara : I’m pretty sure it means soul (check wikipedia)…

…today I got a Trent Reznor circa The Fragile haircut… (lol)

…my hands suddenly looked old. They had a sickly, greasy sheen to them and the wrinkles were highly pronounced.  My knuckles and the skin around my fingernails were a warm red, yet the rest of my skin was a clammy, greyish-peach colour.  I rubbed the bed of my palm with the fingers of the same hand and I felt something was wrong.  I couldn’t place it.  I just knew that it was wrong.  I could see the sinewy, purple veins running across each other through the meaty flesh of my palm and I realized that my skin was transparent.  I didn’t know why it irked me, but it did; deeply.  Maybe it was the sudden realization that my skin was so thin that made me uneasy.  It made me think of how vulnerable and frail I was.  And I didn’t like that feeling…

…my co-worker told a bitchy customer: “yah, People in Darfur are also upset that we don’t have any frappuccino mix today” HA! priceless!!…

…Laurie Brown (of the Signal) – spritzing pot plants while giving her radio show on one of those 20s-style mics… (mental image I thought was funny while listening to the Signal on CBC)

…I had an itch on the inside of my ear.  I used my pinky to scratch it and then a worried stupor blanketed me.  Was I doing permanent damage to my ear? I remembered when I was in Grade 1 and we did an entire unit on “not putting things in your ears.”  The teacher told us that the only thing you should ever put in your ears are your elbows!  So I spent weeks trying to get my elbows in my ears.  I even went so far as to try and get my friend Kyle’s elbow in my ear before I finally gave up…

…we are animals and thus have animal urges.  There is no God and we’re voluntarily shaming ourselves into repressing natural, normal feelings and calling it sin…

…a guy came into work today to ask if we had any salt he could gargle with…

…everyone has a public life, a private life, and a secret life…

…a man goes into a bar and brings his giraffe. The giraffe gets pissed and passes out.  The man gets up to leave and the bartender says “Oy! You can’t leave that lyin’ there!” And the man turns to the bartender and says: “That’s not a lion that’s a giraffe.”…

…guy came into work today and asked me “the large…is it rather large?” I answered, “why yes, it is rather large” 😉 I got in trouble…

…CATS DOMESTICATED US! used us to capture and kill food & scavenged what we killed! crazy!…

…what are we if only a thought in someone else’s head? What are we? Or maybe we aren’t.  What if instead we’re all dead and only fleeting clusters of energy, retaining rudimentary memory that repeats and repeats until the energy disperses?…

…what if in the future you could record and play back your dreams? story idea: a man spends a lot of his life watching his dreams and forgets which is reality and which is the dream…

…Pat Robertson is a douche!…

…the present day in the mindset of someone from the Neolithic era is trippy!… 😉 (ha, I laughed when I re-read that.  I totally remember the context of that note.)

…I’m really sick of the stereotype that people who smoke pot are lazy, unmotivated wastes of skin.  Not all people who drink beat their wives and drive drunk.  People would be up in arms if you made a blanket statement about all people who drink alcohol, but whenever I tell someone I smoke pot there’s an instant change in their perception of me.  Why the double standard?…

…is anything really completely solid? A desk, if you got down to an extremely small scale is filled with pockets of air and if you go even deeper, an atom is made up of almost 90% space because electrons are orbiting around it and then you get quarks and string theory stuff, weird!…

…there are trace amounts of blood and urine in milk…

…for some reason whenever I’m at work my mind wanders and I end up thinking about Final Fantasy XII on PS2 and Diablo 2 on PC-weird…

Leave a Reply

